This has been a busy week and it’s not over yet, I have to work tomorrow and I usually don’t work on the weekends. Means I won’t have as much time for writing, even though there are some weekends I don’t get much down on paper. When that happens I still get to think things through and sort out ideas.

So onto my challenge I mentioned previously. I have been selected to participate in writing an epistolary novella. The idea is mine and I have been teamed with another writer. I don’t know her and we will be working together on this for the next two months. I have to admit I’ve never done anything like this before and it’s a little nerve wracking. What if she doesn’t like my writing? What if I don’t like hers? That’s the thing about a challenge though, sometimes it’s just good to take yourself out of your comfort zone.

We’ve written one letter a piece and something I’ve already discovered is that it’s fun finding out things as you go along. As a writer most of that happens as you write or plan your project. For me it’s as I write, I’m not a big planner. The thing is it all comes from you and you can discard the ideas you don’t like. Working with someone else means they have their own creative flow and it’s probably not the same as yours. They approach the same topic from a different perspective so what seems like a logical progression to them may be a surprising jump to you. I’ve decided that the only way I can approach this successfully is not to plan at all. I don’t know where she is going to take things and yes that’s a bit scary. You know what though, it’s also exciting. I was surprised by some of what she wrote back, then realised I liked it a lot and would never have thought to do that. I can’t wait to see what she brings next.

