Last week there was a bit of a storm in a tea cup in the world of YA fiction. I say in a teacup because in the grand scheme of things very few would even have noticed the ripple.

An organisation published a list of their top YA reads for certain readers. So far so good. The problem was they actually didn’t read all the books they put on the list and after one comment about a particular title, they read it, discussed and removed it from the list. Firstly I’m not sure you can read something objectively with loud negatives ringing in your ears but thats what they did. Secondly what were they doing recommending books they hadn’t read? I don’t at work. I will say if something sells well but I won’t say it’s worth reading unless I’ve read it. Yes I know how very subjective and I make no apologies for that.

In the end they removed three titles and I have to say all it did was move two of those titles from my ‘I’ll get around to it list’, to my ‘must grab it and read’ list. The storm didn’t end there though because some authors found out what they had done and in protest asked for their books to be removed from the list. To be honest if I was in their position I probably would have done the same, but someone had the gall to say they shouldn’t get worked up about it and demand these things. To which there was a very good reply from one of the authors, ‘my name is on the product I should get to choose if I want to be associated with such an organisation’. Once again I totally agree with the author.

All of which really just points out to me that if you’re going to put together a recommends list make sure you know what you are actually recommending.

Note to self : when I eventually get around to doing my own lists for those who ask – and yes I get asked – make sure I read anything I recommend. Wow, like the pile of books on my to read list is that small.

