This week has been really tough. My baby went in for surgery, and I had opening night for a play I was really having trouble finding the character I was supposed to be playing. I knew why I was having trouble but I couldn’t seem to find my way around it, until last night. Thankfully opening night hit and though I was tired and just wasn’t sure how it would work I hit it and hit it hard. I found her and the director was very happy with my portrayal. Cue big sigh of relief.

My baby is doing pretty well post op, just thought I should add that.

Now onto my topic for today – refocus.

I know what I want to do, I’m just not sure how I’m going to quite get there. Before I start refocusing on my writing I think I probably need to start somewhere completely different. I need to clean up my office, that really is to say I need to do all my folding. I’ve got weeks worth of clean clothes to put away. Sometimes this housework thing really gets on top of me. I try but I find it so difficult to keep up with it. It is really ridiculous.

Once I’ve done that I’m hoping to feel a bit more something; organised or focused or even just that I’m capable of doing something. Then I can get my teeth stuck into some writing. I have my YA project to finish and I’m setting myself a totally unreasonable deadline in order to focus myself on it. Let’s face it though last time I set myself what I thought was a pretty difficult target I hit it and did it quite well. Also there is a couple of short story ideas floating around in the back of my head. I may put my headphones on at the theatre tonight and try an get some writing done. Of course if that fails all is not lost because there is always plenty of reading to do, I’m half way through a few books that I really must get done. The reviews wont wait forever.

So now I have a plan, all I need to do it avoid the playstation and stop procrastinating about the laundry.

