This week I actually got some writing done. In amongst everything else I’m doing I came up with a cool short story idea and got the chance to put pen to paper again.

It’s strange I write pretty much every day, I’m never without a notebook or three, it’s just most of what I write these days are reviews. Sometimes that makes me a little sad. Don’t get me wrong I love the reading and I quite like writing reviews, I just really want to have people reading my stories. It’s what I’ve wanted since I was a kid. So there are days when I wonder if starting my review blog is a cop out of some sort. You know I can’t do what I really want so I settle.

I try not to dwell on it though. I still have ideas and still scribble things down, it’s just so much of my time is taken up reading other peoples books and writing about them. It is funny in a way because nearly every book or interview about what it takes to be a good writer includes the tip to read, and read, and read some more. I suppose on the up side I’ve got that down pat.

A funny thing happened at work this week. One of the people I work with asked me to tell her all about the kids books I know. I turned around half joking half serious and said what if I didn’t want someone else using my  knowledge for their gain and I got a lecture on how it’s not all about me and I should know it’s about selling books. Wow, I even less wanted to share what’s in my head after that. The thing is what if I don’t stay at this job I don’t want to give them all my knowledge any more than I want to give them all my contacts, in a way I am kind of feeling used. I love books and I want to put them into people’s hands but it’s hard when in some way it just feels like you’re being used for what you can give them not for what they can give back (the people you work for).

Here’s a thought, you want to know what all these books are about how about you pick one up and read it?

Oh and in brief, when people who work in books bitch and complain about e-books/e-readers and people downloading free books illegally, then turn around and say they download all their movies instead of paying for them, do they even see how stupid that looks?

