Well I did it!

Yes indeed, I hit 50 000 words and did it with a day to spare. Not even sure I could believe it but I did it. Boy was it an incredible feeling. I haven’t finished the story yet. Just got the big climax and aftermath left really. And to be honest once I’d hit the requisite number of words I sort of stopped. I will finish it but there is at the moment so much reading I really need to catch up on. I have so many books piling up it’s getting beyond ridiculous. Of course it isn’t helped at all by the fact that I keep buying books and adding to the pile.

I have to say I love NaNoWriMo. I really do.For the first time in quite a while I actually feel as though I accomplished something. Not only did I practically write a complete book in one month, and yeah it still needs a lot of work and is more like a really detailed draft, but I also got inspired to work on another project that has been sitting in the back of my mind for a few years. This particular one is not a kids or YA book and it was started ages ago. Finding the inspiration to work on it though hasn’t happened. Then this week strangely the voice of the book came to me. So really I have to say thank you to NaNoWriMo. It has given me my focus and drive back.

What I will do next is anyones guess. Though I do plan on getting up the word flow and getting some writing finished. Though I may take a bit of a break just to try and catch up on reading.

