You know one of the things I really love about writing?

I love when you think you know what is going to happen next and something surprising happens instead. Or when you think you are writing a bit character and all of a sudden the words that appear on the page let you know that this character is much bigger than you originally thought.

Writing can be a surprise to the author and it’s such a fun thing to work through.

This week, or maybe last week I was writing about this mysterious character who had no name, he was there because when he appeared it was the perfect way to fill a gap that had been bugging me. As I wrote another scene with him in it my main character’s thought process appeared from my hand and I realised this character was the one to fill a much bigger gap than I had originally thought.

The problem then was I had to find a name for him. When he was just a bit character the name could come whenever and mattered only a little but with the change in role the name became more important. As I walked around at work throwing thoughts and ideas about this new direction around in my mind a name jumped out at me. The best thing was as soon as I thought it I knew it was the right name. It fit perfectly, why? I really couldn’t say I just know that it is the right name.

I don’t know if this sort of thing happens to those writers who are big planners but for me, it is one of the things I love about writing. I get such pleasure out of discovering my characters and their lives.

 

