Having time to read has never really been an issue for me, somehow when I have felt like reading there was always time. Of course when I first started in book retail I had much more time to read and so many authors were opened up to me (being able to afford to buy more books certainly helped).

Then with my blog and passion intersecting I was always reading and it was great. I found so many awesome authors, so many wonderful stories to journey into.

Life took another turn and I left book retail behind and started a new career path, part of this new path included three months of what is effectively classroom work. Somehow I simply never realised it would take so much of my time, I was so focused on the end result, more time with my family and to write that I overlooked the time required to get through the first 3 months.

Then I went and added a play into the mix, thinking only of the possibility that it could be my last play in a very long time. That didn’t turn out to be the best decision because that has put so much pressure on me that I probably could have done without. I simply have had very little time to read or write.

Sure I got my short story done on time but the rest I’ve only managed to do bits and pieces of. I also have a new idea floating around in the ether of my mind. You know that place where stories form, coming together and pulling apart until you have enough of an idea to put something down on paper. That at least is a good thing.

In these two months of study I have read maybe 4 books, a huge shock to my system when you consider I was on track to have read a book a day before I started this. So 4 of that size a week was not out of character. Perhaps bearing this in mind you can imagine how happy I feel to have finished a 570 page book in 3 days. It’s a silly thing I know but I feel so good to have accomplished this. Reading inspires the creativity flowing through my being and this is also a good thing.

On the writing front I did write a poem this week. A friend is very sick and it just seemed the right thing to do. The words came it took about an hour  to put it all together and I was very happy with the end result. It’s the first poem I have written in a very long time, she is a special person and for her I felt I had to walk a line between rough humour and emotion. Writing is how I can cope with some things. With all the pressure to get through my course it is still the creative that inspires and encourages me, it levels me out, keeps me sane (though that may be a bit subjective). Writing keeps me going and I know I need it in my life and at times like this it is the small things – a finished book and a written poem, that bring a smile to my face a a touch of satisfaction to my day.

