Some people need an uncluttered area in which to work and write. Me not so much. Usually I know where pretty much everything I need is… well mostly. Recently though I have had in my head that my office has needed an overhaul and it took weeks for me to get my new desk and then sort everything out, including all the books that had been packed for when we thought we were going to have to move.
Finally today I finished it.
IMG_0413
I honestly can’t remember the last time my office was so organised, probably not long after we first moved in.
I have to say it feels good. In the process so much stuff got thrown out. It can be quite amazing just how much stuff can be accumulated when you aren’t really looking.
More incredibly perhaps are the number of old projects I found. In some cases it is simply old versions of projects I’ve seen through to completion on one level or another and in others it’s little more than opening scenes or story ideas. Now it is all collated and if I ever got the time I probably have enough stuff to get on with for many years to come.
Thing is all this shuffling has left me feeling very focussed and ready to get my head down and write. All of which couldn’t have come at a better time because I have one more week of week before nearly two weeks off. I have many plans for that time, of course mostly that is writing and reading.
So very looking forward to it.

