0xcastI had a meeting today for the upcoming SupaNova event. I’m volunteering this year because the person I was supposed to be working for is no longer able to make it over due to a sad string of events.
I thought I may know one person there today. A guy I’ve known for nearly 20 years now I come to think of it. He was there, we had the chance to have a brief hug. Then I found myself sitting next to someone I’d met at an author event over a year ago, so we got to chatting. In fact I inserted myself into a conversation she was having with someone else about NaNo before we made the connection.
That’s the thing though, I didn’t know anyone and yet I had some laughs, and some good convo about writing. Life is full of connections. You need to be open to them. At this time I’m thinking I’m going to be working a full week before the con and I’ll work all con so I’ll be pretty tired once it’s all over. I think it will be worth it though.
The con allows me to embrace that part of me that doesn’t really fit into work life. Don’t get my wrong, I love work, I often have quiet a laugh but the geeky part of me really has no place there. I can’t quote Firefly, Star Wars, or Labyrinth because no-one will know what I’m talking about. I’m okay with that though because the cheeky part of me gets plenty of workout.
princess bride 3
The geek part of me loves when it gets the chance to be let out. I love the chance to fan girl over tv actors/film actors and writers. I love being around people who know what I’m talking about if I say I’m doing NaNo this year. Or someone says ‘inconceivable’ and you reply ‘You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means’ and they laugh coz they know what you’re talking about.
We humans can often be made up of personality components but often we don’t feel comfortable revealing them to some people. It’s probably healthier though if we find ways to attend to all those aspects of ourselves. Me I have my cheeky/honest side that I can let out at work. That’s the side of me that can come out in the theatre too. I have my booky/geeky side that is seen by my friends and people who attend Cons and so on. And I have a fitness side that’s mostly kept to myself and my trainer (and those crazy few who are doing Tough Mudder with me). I also have a smoochy side that well that’s reserved for somewhere that’s not this blog.
What I’m trying to say is I think you probably get more out of life, or at least a little more happiness if you are honest with yourself about who you are. Don’t hide parts of yourself, find some way to bring them out to shine every now and then, it’s definitely worth it.

